IEEE.org logo (black).

Past Events

Face Recognition and Surveillance: Enhancing Privacy and Fairness

About The Speaker Prof. Arun Ross, Michigan State University, USA Arun Ross is the John and Eva Cillag Endowed Chair in the College of Engineering and a Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Michigan State University. He also serves as the Site Director of the NSF Center for Identification Technology Research [...]

Combatting Deep Fakes

Recording of the Webinar Abstract In the early days of the Russian invasion of Ukraine, President Zelenskyy warned the world that Russia's digital disinformation machinery would create a deep fake of him admitting defeat. By mid-March of 2022, a deep fake of Zelenskyy appeared with just this message. This video was eventually debunked, but not [...]

Face Presentation Attack Detection

Title: Face Presentation Attack Detection Speaker: Prof. Dr. Sébastien Marcel, University de Lausanne/IDIAP, Switzerland When: 7 December 2022, at 10am CET (5 pm CST, 4am ET) Where: Online (Zoom) Recording of the Webinar Abstract In biomatrics, Presentation Attacks (PS also referred to as spoofing) are performed by falsifying the biometric trait and then presenting this [...]

Heterogeneous Face Recognition

Title: Heterogeneous Face Recognition Speaker: Prof. Dr. Ran He, National Laboratory of Pattern Recognition, China When: March 29, 2023 at 10am Beijing time (4 am CEST, and March 28 at 9 pm CDT, 10pm EDT) Where: Online (Zoom) Recording of the Webinar Abstract Ubiquitous vision sensors not only facilitate the wide application of face recognition [...]

Remote Photoplethysmography Based 3D Facial Mask Presentation Attack Detection

Title: Remote Photoplethysmography Based 3D Facial Mask Presentation Attack Detection Speaker: Prof. Dr. Pong Chi Yuen, Hong Kong Baptist University, China When: May 24, 2023 at 10am Hong Kong time (4 am CEST, and May 23 at 9 pm CDT, 10pm EDT) Where: Online (Zoom) Recording of the Webinar Abstract Although face recognition is widely [...]

Synthetic Realities, Trust and Biometrics: What’s Ahead?

Title:  Synthetic Realities, Trust and Biometrics: What’s Ahead? Speaker: Prof. Dr. Anderson Rocha, University of Campinas (Unicamp), Brazil When: October 18, 2023 at 10 am Eastern Time (7am PST, 4 pm CEST, 10 pm Beijing Time) Where: Online (Zoom) Recording of the Webinar Abstract In this talk, we will discuss how our society is currently [...]

Continuous Authentication – Still a Thing after 20 years?

Title: Continuous Authentication - Still a Thing after 20 years? Speaker: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Terence Sim, National University of Singapore When: January 17, 2024 at 11 am Beijing Time (8:30 am IST, 7 pm PST, 10 pm ET on 16 Jan 2024) Where: Online (Zoom) Recording of the Webinar Abstract In this webinar, the speaker [...]

Biometric Recognition in the Era of AI Generated Content (AIGC)

Title: Biometric Recognition in the Era of AI Generated Content (AIGC) Speaker: Prof. Dr. Xiaoming Liu, Michigan State University When: April 24, 2024 at 10 am EST (4:00 pm CEST, 7 am PST, 10 pm Beijing Time) Where: Online (Zoom) Recording of the Webinar Abstract In recent years we have witnessed impressive progress on AIGC [...]

Go to Top